Tots and ale

No, that isn’t a reference to toddlers, it’s a reference to Tater Tots, well in this reference Potato Puffs being that their from Alexia, not Oreida. But today I decided while watching a few videos on YouTube to try out a little snack while I had my first beer of the night. Might not be my last, but definitely my first. I paired it with those Potato Puffs or Tater Tots or whatever.

IMG_0370

That is a Jr Nation glass, from popular NASCAR racer Dale Earnhardt Jr. I picked it up when I went to his race shop in North Carolina one year. If you look closely in the picture you can see me peaking in somewhere as I take it. But yes that was my little snack tonight, some Widmer Brothers’ Alchemy Ale and a nice bowl of tots. Carb central! Good thing I’m going for a run in the AM to burn most of this off.

IMG_0371

Now I won’t always do this sort of setup with my entries but for the first one I thought it would be cool to try some things out, I’ll try to change each picture group, maybe get artistic, break out the Photoshop and edit some pictures, or if I’m on the fly use my iPhone and Instagram, just for that crispy modern and contemporary look for people to get a preview of on my feed. But there it is, the Alchemy Ale. I would haven’t picked it up as I was leaving Total Wine if it didn’t have the word Alchemy in it. I am that big of a nerd. I figured why not have a beer while eating some tots? Usually  I enjoy to nurse, sip, my beers over time, but this had a smooth taste. It went down pretty quick, so it was gone before the tots were gone.

I picked it up at Total Wine for a buck fifty, would I pay that buck fifty again for this Alchemy Ale? Even with my bias for Widmer Brothers aside, I would most definitely pick it up again. I wish they had a six pack of it. It’s definitely one of those beers you could drink after a meal or after mowing the yard to help you cool down. I’ve yet to come across a Widmer Brothers beer I haven’t liked. You’ll definitely be seeing more of them in this blog’s future.

Leave a comment